MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Sun Sep 29, 2024 11:26 am

Post subject: Fast Take Off
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:51 am 
Hello,
I'm new here to the boards, but certainly not new to MTM2. I was wondering though, what defines a fast truck. For example, I was racing on "TNT Beach Challange" by DaveTheSmasher (Great work on the track Dave) with all sorts of trucks that I have podded, and averaging times of 6.85. Then I ran it with Bad Influence '98 by Inky & Rudd (Great truck) and everytime I ran that truck, I set a time of 6.59 or so. I could only get those times with Bad Influence. What makes one truck faster than the other, without messing with the ratios, because they were the same for all trucks I used? I am not a truck maker nor a track maker, but I've been playing the game for many many years. Can anyone shed some light on this subject please. Thanks in advance.

mtm2879

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 3:41 pm 
Glow Ball

The handling of a truck is controled by a few factors
  • Whell base - length and width
  • Ride height
  • Relative position to center - length, width and height

These things are determined when a truck is made. There is no after-build adjustments to be done. However, knowing this can help in the selection of which truck you use on what tracks at any given time. For example, a shorter wheel base (boogey van) would probably be more suited to shorter tracks and drags, whereas a longer wheel base (overkill) would probably be better suited to rallies with few tight corners. The trick would be to find the perfect truck for each racing situation. Most people, tho, usually find their favorite and stick with it for all tracks.